Lydia Cacho

Lydia Cacho is a journalist, social activist and author who has been awarded the National Human Rights Prize Don Sergio Méndez Arceo, the Yo Donna Prize in Spain for her humanitarian work, Amnesty Internationa’s Ginetta Sagan Prize, UNESCO’s Guillermo Cano Prize for freedom of expression and the PEN/Pinter International Writer of Courage Award, among many others. She has been a radio, television and newspaper journalist for over 18 years and she is the author of the critically acclaimed Los demonios del edén, Memorias de una infamia and Esclavas del poder. She lives in Cancun, Mexico.

A woman of great strength and courage, and who is deeply committed to ethical journalism and the advancement of human rights in Mexico for the long haul.
— Marianne Pearl, author of A Mighty Heart
A courageously reported investigative work.
— The Washington Post
Lydia Cacho is a model for anyone who wishes to become a journalist. She is a woman of great courage who has endured prison and torture to defend a minority that nobody listened to, to draw people’s attention to the wrongs that women and children are subject to in Mexico and in the poorest parts of the world. She has uncovered hitherto unknown information and she has exposed herself to enormous danger by informing against important businessmen and politicians.
— Roberto Saviano, author of Gommorrah
Lydia Cacho boldly questions every aspect of our civilization, including sacrosanct values such as free speech, free markets and liberty.
— Bookslut
Powerful, brave and compassionate; reportage of the first order.
— Sunday Telegraph
Cacho is not somebody who can be silenced.
— The Guardian

2006 National Human Rights Prize Don Sergio Méndez Arceo · 2007 Ginetta Sagan Prize/Amnesty International · 2007 CNN Hero · 2007 International Hero to End Human Trafficking by US Department of State · 2008 UNESCO Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize (France) · 2008 One Humanity Award/PEN Canada · 2008 PEN Tucholsky Award (Sweden) · 2009 The Wallemberg Medal, University of Michigan (USA) · 2010 Harold Pinter/PEN Writer of Courage Award (UK) · 2010 International Press Prize Manu Legineche (Spain) · 2010 International Press Institute - Freedom of Press Heroe · 2011 Civil Courage Prize (USA) · 2011 Hrant Dink Award (Turkey)

foto lydia (1).jpg


#EllosHablan NON-FICTION, 2018 Ciberespías al rescate CHILDREN'S, 2017 En busca de Kayla CHILDREN'S, 2015 Sexo y amor en tiempos de crisis NON-FICTION, 2014 Esclavas del poder NON-FICTION, 2010 Memorias de una infamia MEMOIR, 2008 Muérdele el corazón NOVEL, 2006 Los demonios del edén NON-FICTION, 2005 Esta boca es mía... y tuya también NOVEL, 2005